4th edition of SRFF coming up...

March 13-19, 2017  

Submissions now open!

"I am proud to support the mission of the SR Socially Relevant Film Festival New York. Movies have a unique ability to bring social issues to life and films like these can truly change lives, I  should know."

Erin Brockovich

Withoutabox logos are trademarks of Withoutabox, a DBA of IMDb.com Inc. or its affiliates

Next submission deadline: November 15

  • Wix Facebook page
  • Wix Twitter page
  • Wix Google+ page


Grand Prize for narrative feature Winner Ahmed Atef with Festival Director Nora Armani and Jury Memb
Jason Ward of Candy Factory sponsors the Award for Best Narrative Feature
Vanya Exerjian Award recipient Maryam Zaki with Festival Director Nora Armani and Presenter Ruchira
Grad Prize Documentary Feature - Beneath the Olive Tree
Best Documentary Short Prize
Show More

The Vanya Exerjian: Empowering Women and Girls Award

in memory of Founding Artistic Director Nora Armani's cousin and uncle,
victims of a hate crime

Myriam Zaki for her work in

Who Killed the Armenians? directed by Mohamend Hanafy (Egypt)



Grand Prize for Best Narrative Feature Award
Before the Spring directed by Ahmed Atef (Egypt)


Grand Prize for Best Documentary Feature Award
Beneath the Olive Tree directed by Stavroula Toska (USA/ Greece)


Best Narrative Short Award [Ex Aequo]
Eclipse directed by Ara Yernjakyan (Armenia)

My Beautiful White Skin directed by Stuart Gatt (UK)


Best Documentary Short Award
One if By Land directed by Nandini Sikand (USA)


Best Script Award
A Mother's Legacy by Cilla Lowen (South Africa)



SR Film Festival's Humanitarian Award
Sense the Wind directed by Christine Knowlton (USA)


Vision: Healing the Blind in Ethiopia directed by Eric Perlman (USA/ Ethiopia)



SR Film Festival's Activism Award
Caged No More directed by Lisa Arnold (USA/Greece)



SR Film Festival's Audience Award
Who Killed the Armenians? directed by Mohamed Hanafy (Egypt)



The Women Film Critics Circle Award
Lost Tongue directed by Davison Mudzingwa (South Africa)



Best Actress in a Feature Film Award
Huichi Chiu in Escapes directed by Mercedes Gaspar (Spain)


Best Actress in a Short Film Award
Ritu Arya in My Beautiful White Skin directed by Stuart Gatt (UK)


Best Actor in a Feature Film Award

Baptiste Moulart in I am NOT from Barcelona directed by Stephane Leclercq (Belgium)


Best Actor in a Short Film Award:

Hamis El-Sheikh in Border directed by Zahi Mahler (Israel)

The Sona Bowl,
festival trophy, 
designed and donated by:


The Sona Vessel - by Michael Aram 

Grand Prize Trophy 

Thank you for visiting our site, see you at the movies!